I was thinking yesterday on the subway that I haven’t posted anything in a long time. So here’s a quick entry in the Kev’s Favorite Films category. Paul Thomas Anderson’s Magnolia is one of my favorite movies ever. I saw it in theaters when I was in seventh grade. My dad took me to see it. When I think about, it wasn’t a movie that a twelve-year-old should see, but I guess my dad thought I was mature enough for it. Magnolia is a multilayered story that follows a large cast of characters. There are several plot lines throughout the film, but they are all connected. The film addresses regret, isolation, and forgiveness. William H. Macy and Tom Cruise give excellent performances and as do all the actors and actresses, but theirs stand out. Jon Brion’s score and Aimee Mann’s songs add to the texture of the movie. If you haven’t seen this movie, I highly recommend it.

