Yes, it’s been awhile since I’ve posted to the blog, but that’s what working full time and going to grad school at night does. The good news is that I’ve completed my first two semesters. The bad news is that I’m taking a summer course. It’s all about getting the degree done in three years instead of four.

Let me get to what this post is about. I finally going to see Star Trek Into Darkness tomorrow! So I want to write about Star Trek and more particularly my favorite parts of the franchise and the not so good parts.

My first exposure to Star Trek was The Next Generation on Channel 11 in New York City in the early 1990s. I’ve always been a scifi fan, but when you’re young you don’t fully understand the meanings of the show. All you care about are the space ships, aliens, and space battles. It is not until you get older that you can truly grasp it.

The original Star Trek is what gets the franchise going with the basic ideas, but suffers from its low budget and not the greatest writing. I’m not saying it is bad. It was the movies with the original cast that people remember. Wrath of Khan will always be considered the greatest Trek film of all time. Voyage Home is fun. The Undiscovered Country is good and actually a little dark for the original cast when I think about it.

The Next Generation brought the franchise into the modern day. The first few seasons are weak, but the series produced many great stories. The Picard and Q episodes are great. I didn’t like how almost everything was neatly wrapped up in a single episode and everything returned to the status quo. The thing that always bugged me that the series did not explore the pyschological damage to Picard after he was assimilated by the Borg. There were only a few episodes that dealt with it and it was not until First Contact that all of Picard’s PTSD came out. And moving to the movies, Generations is underrated. It was a nice bridging between the original and TNG, and the basic question that the plot  raises is a good one. What would you do if you do if you could be happy for eternity? That drives the film. First Contact brings back the Borg and is the best TNG era movie.

Deep Space Nine is my favorite of Star Trek TV series. What I like about the series is that it asks a lot of moral questions and is extremely political. It still has the fun scifi aspects of the franchise, but went on its own path. This is also one of the first TV shows that made extensive use of story arcs.

Voyager almost killed Star Trek for me. It was just bad and I have really nothing good to say about it. I’ve never bother with Enterprise so I cannot comment on it.

JJ Abrams’ Star Trek brought back life to the franchise. It is a reboot that acknowledges that all the other Trek stories did happen because of crazy alternate universe stuff. I look forward to seeing Into Darkness tomorrow.

