The upcoming New York City mayor’s race. Mayor Bloomberg just gave his last state of the city and the clock is ticking. He has a year to ban styrofoam cups! I agree it’s a good idea, but I just can’t be cynical. I’ll save my full opinion of Bloomberg for another post.

So it looks like Christine Quinn, Bill de Blasio, and John Liu will be contending for the Democratic nomination for mayor. I’m not excited by any of them. A few days ago, the Times published an article about the one topic that has united them… bike lanes. Some people in the city like them and others hate them. I don’t ride a bike, but I do think bike lanes are a good idea. The car is not king. Drivers don’t want to hear that, but it’s the truth. It’s a mix of reasons why bike lanes are “controversial.” At the end of the day, people don’t like change. The three potential candidates are just posturing. The majority of people in the city do like bike lanes. Folks chill out.

