A few days ago, the Atlantic Cities published this article about the wrecked South Ferry station on the tip of lower Manhattan and the costs of rebuilding it and whether or not it is worth it. Now anything that regards the 1 train is near and dear to my heart since it is my train. I’ve been riding it all my life. Seriously, I rode it when I was in a stroller. Hurricane Sandy did do a number on the station and the estimate is that rebuilding will cost around $600 million. The article lists the pros and cons and I fall on the pro side. Yes, it will be expensive, but what infrastructure project in the city is cheap? The station is major connection for the Staten Island ferry and transfer point to the R at Whitehall. Another pro is the capacity argument since the new station could handle more trains than the old one. So just rebuild the damn thing.

